The investments of many governments in the arts are pointless and should be reallocated elsewhere

wasting money on the arts?

Hi, this is my first attempt to write an IELTS Writing Task 2.

Can someone estimate the band score of this writing please?

Thank you all!

ART TOPIC: Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

WORD COUNT: 253

It is thought by some individuals that the investments of many governments in the arts are pointless and should be reallocated to other beneficial sectors. I completely disagree with this point of view.

Arts cultivate a society from the individual level. They have a magical ability to enrich a person's soul with various degrees of enjoyment. These exclusive personal experiences then have the power to evoke one's creativity and may become his/her inspirations and immense life motivation. In fact, an overwhelming majority of Nobel Prize winners share common interests in arts - from playing classical pianos to producing oil paintings in their leisure time. Consequently, it is evident to claim that by encouraging the positive development of arts, countries are educating decent citizens.

On a bigger scale, arts conserve and promote a nation's cultural traditions and heritages. Different forms of artwork together reflect the length of history of society; hence, they are invaluable assets. Even more, with appropriate advertising strategies, a country can promote its unique cultural identity to the world to develop tourism. Every year, millions of K-pop fans travel to Korea to attend concerts and movie-lovers come to see the beauty of the country after watching unforgettable scenes onscreen. Korea has made wise and strong investments into its music and movie industries and the success has been tremendous such that its economy arguably relies on the arts now.

In conclusion, I believe that arts have beneficial influences on a country from different levels and aspects, and should receive adequate financing to support.