toefl:what kind of person makes a good roommate?

Hi Kevin,

I am preparing for my coming test,so I try to practice toefl essay everyday.

I do really appreciate your help :)

TOPIC:

Many students have to live with roommates while going to school oruniversity.

What are some of the important qualities of a good roommate?

Use specific reasons and examples to explain why thesequalities are important.

Living with people who come from a different background is a challenge.As far as I am concerned,the significant qualites of a good roommate should be included as the following.

The most important of all, a good roommate ought to respect other's space and privacy. Che, one of my roommates when I was a freshman, was my worst nightmare.

She used to enter my room without knocking, to use my laptop without any permission, to meddle with my homework and to open my gift, which was given by my best friend.

I tried to inform her in a circumlocutory way, but it was still in vain. During the semester, I was frequently at the peak of irritation due to her etiquette-impaired. Accordingly, a good roommate should be courteous toward others.

Furthermore,a good roomate is considerate and decent. Recalling the same term in the dormitory,Lisa, who lived the next door, was well-known for her ardency and kindness. She used to help classmates and roommates who faced difficulties. In addition, she brought the specialty goods, such as snacks or pastries, when she returned from her hometown. Because of her friendly personality,she was everyone's friend .

Besides, a good roommate may just like your family. In contrast with my worst experience,I had two roommates,Grace and Peggy,who were my classmates.After moving the dormitory,I rent a apartment with them in order to sharing the rental. Fortunately, it is absolutely to say that they are the best roommates I've ever met.We shared the housework in turn,and went shopping for preparing our dinner together. After surviving the final exams,we used to hold a small party in our "home." I remember that we cried reluctantly because of the separation at the last night. Subsequently,we still keep in touch with each other and go traveling per year.

In sum,the main characteristic of a good roommate is that he should know how to get along with people,including the above qualities which I mention.