Lawbreakers, who haven't committed serious crimes, ought to be assigned non remuneration social work

Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extend do you agree ?

giving the second chance

Some sociologists opine that few lawbreakers, who have not committed serious crimes, ought to be assigned non remuneration social works while other people argue that it would be negative impact on social system, as there might be increase in the rate of crimes in communities. This essay agrees with the former view, since it may provide second chance for law offenders to start new life and benefits societies in many ways.

Probably, lawbreakers may engage in social benefit activities, which tend to change their life in future. These wrongdoers can be assigned for helping downtrodden and disable people, as this may generate empathy and compassion and realize selfishness of their activity. One of the good examples can be cited in China, where young law offenders cook and serve to blind schools and old age homes. Overall motive is to provide a new opportunity to these criminals by teaching them new skills and changing narrative towards their life.

Admittedly, these types of the activity benefits communities in numerous ways. It is commonly seen in many developed countries that less serious crimes, such as, traffic violations are penalized with social works like cleaning of streets and planting new trees. There will be fewer crimes and fewer burdens on law administration in future if other governments promote such type of approach towards law offenders in developing countries too.

To conclude, in my opinion giving wrongdoers the second chance is not only good for society but provide new opportunity to criminals to start a new life. Although, some consider all criminals should be put behind bars for their crimes, in my view it is not good for social system and sustainable development in society.