Learning history or practical subjects? - IELTS WARRIOR

FCQ3-2025-T1

**Some people think learning history in school is important. Others think learning subjects more relevant to life is important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.**

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

While some believe it is essential to learn history at school, others are in favour of studying more practical subjects. In my opinion, although history enriches learners' knowledge about cultural identity, learning practical subjects is more important as it enhances the opportunities for students.

One primary reason why some hold the view that studying history at school is important is that it provides students with a wide range of cultural knowledge. History often teaches students about the old times and the advancements of societies over time. By learning historical events and transformations, students may have a deep understanding of the origins of their traditions. For instance, Vietnamese education offers three history lessons per week, which enables students to immerse themselves in the past and explore national identity. With a good basis knowledge of the local cultures, students can share them with foreigners, thus strengthening the national cultures.

In contrast, others maintain learning subjects related to life due to the promotion of students' future careers after studying these subjects. Learning practical subjects at school provides students with many essential skills, such as time management and problem-solving. By applying hands-on knowledge in practice, learners can achieve better assessments from others. For example, by learning English regularly, a number of Vietnamese students can have excellent communication skills. Despite their young age, many high-reputation international companies in Vietnam strive to recruit them. Therefore, learning subjects related to life plays a crucial role in improving the national workforce.

In conclusion, it is important to study history because it improves learners' cultural awareness. However, I am firmly convinced that learning subjects more relevant to life is more essential, since it paves the way for better job opportunities for students.

Tsym!