IELTS Writing task 2: Living in a modern world brings both positive and negative outcomes

THE ADVANTAGES AND DISAVANTAGES OF LIVING IN A MODERN WORLD

People born in the late past century has experienced a lot of social and technological changes, some might enjoy living in such today's modern era while others want to return to the simpler and less automated life of the past. Living in the modern world has certain advantages such as a high living standard or a variety of entertainments, but it also has some disadvantages, for examples, environment pollution and the weakening of human relationship.

First of all, with the invention of electricity and computers, a great number of machines, devices, and appliances have been created to furnish people's lives. Housewives spends a shorter amount of time to do chores or prepare meals since they have vacuum cleaners, washing machines, instant pots and so on. Also, people working in different parts of the world can make use of various apps for online meetings, instead of traveling. Young people can have quick access to any music and movie platforms like Youtube or Netflix so as to enjoy their favourite pieces at any place, at any time.

In spite of these benefits, the modern life copes with negatively environmental impacts due to the development of economics. As a matter of fact, big cities around the world are in need solutions to prevent toxic chemicals and polluted air from affecting the public health. Does not only the technology bring convenience to humans but also causes the loss of social interaction. It is usually seen that people keep looking at their mobile phones, spending too much time with computers without direct contact to one another. As a result, there are complaints that they do not have real friends or their families do not understand them.

In conclusion, the modern world comes with both positive and negative outcomes. Learning all these points help us find a way to balance a physically and mentally healthy life.