IELTS Writing Task 2: A majority of nations are striving forward to economic growth

Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

A majority of nations are striving forward to economic growth to bring about better life standards for dwellers, yet culture loss remains a question in the course of development. From my point of view, the detrimental impacts overshadow the merits.

To begin with, economic progress offers an improvement in the quality of life for the population. Increased and diverse economic activities bring about better employment opportunities, generating more income and fulfilling basic demands. For instance, Vietnam's economic collaboration with neighboring countries gives thousands of job opportunities to workers in rural and mountainous areas. This advancement, however, can exert adverse effects, particularly on cultural and traditional values. As people endeavor for economic prosperity, they choose to immerse in the competitive job market rather than return home to embrace familial tradition, which backlashes their relationships and further the breakdown of community bonds and social structures.

As the economy thrives, there is often a simultaneous decline in social values and implications. A society with a wealthy economic base undoubtedly brings about myriad benefits namely, promising employment opportunities, better health services, and education. Appealing as it may seem, robust economic development cannot maintain a sustainable living environment. As nations pursue growth, they often engage in the overconsumption of resources, driving deforestation for industrial expansion. Another implication of the economic boom is the rise of materialism, in which people focus on material possessions and ignore collective well-being. This, in the long run, may lead to the erosion of societal values and the exacerbation of social inequalities.

In conclusion, economic development stems from the desire for a better life and indeed demonstrates improvement, yet its simultaneous implications are inevitable.