Writing task 2 - IELTS Academic - economic growth as the only way to end hunger and poverty?

negatives and positives in the development of the economy

Some people say that economic growth is the only way to end hunger and poverty, while others say that economic growth is damaging the environment so it should be stopped. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Improving the economy is a priority in the agenda of most developing countries since it is believed to be the only viable solution to famine and poverty. Many people, however, raise concerns that economic growth can do great harm to the environment. In my opinion, both sides of the argument have their rationales, which this essay will discuss below.

On the one hand, economic development is considered the only way out of destitution and hunger because it brings money for both households and the government. As the national economy burgeons, more jobs will be created, which provide myriad families with an income source. With this employment, not only can people afford basic necessities such as food, water, and shelter but they can also give their children a decent education. Their offsprings thus will have an opportunity to lift themselves out of poverty and even strive for a high quality of life thanks to the knowledge and skills they assimilate at schools. Furthermore, a growth of economy means more taxes for the government, which in turn can be granted to the poorest citizens in the country as financial aid. In this way, economic improvement can make an enormous contribution to solving poverty and famine.

On the other hand, a boom in the economy can play havoc on the environment due to the discharge of chemical wastes and the excessive exploitation of natural resources. An inevitable implication of developing industries is the burning of more fossil fuels. This process disposes into the environment a substantial amount of toxic fumes, which then heavily pollutes the air. The pernicious effect of economic growth can likewise be seen in acute water pollution as manufacturing plants pump their untreated sewage directly into rivers, lakes and seas. Another threat that economic development poses to the environment is the depletion of natural resources, used as fuels or raw materials. As an illustration, the reserve of coal in Vietnam was once estimated at seven billion tons, yet it is now nearly exhausted.

In conclusion, I believe that there are both negatives and positives in the development of the economy. Therefore, it is imperative that the state implement well-thought-out policies to maintain economic growth and at the same time, minimize environmental costs.