IELTS ESSAY:Manual jobs are being done by sophisticated machines, good trend?

In recent years, the development of mechanization has significantly changed people's working lives. From my personal view, this change is the main driving force for economic growth and the improvement of product quality, although it has led to an increasing unemployment rate.

Firstly, the broad use of machineries can help improve the economic conditions. These labor-saving devices allow business organizations to create more value with less production time and cost, thereby boosting the efficiency. As a consequence, the machine-dependent companies are able to acquire considerable profits than before, which can substantially contribute to the economic growth. This is a particular case for traditional manufacturing industries which rely heavily on labor force.

Besides that, the advancement of mechanization is also beneficial to the quality of industrial products. Machineries typically perform the manufacturing process with less variability than human workers, resulting in greater control and consistency of production. Therefore, the product quality can be well-ensured under this highly standardized process.

However, a number of traditional labor workers have gradually lost their position in workplaces due to the strong capacity of machineries. Companies who intend to obtain long-term profit are most likely to use automatic machines for production or management rather than humans, because this can save employers' budget on salaries. Therefore, low-skilled employees will be laid off in these fast-growing firms.

To sum up, the mechanization has distinct function to stimulate the development of economy and promote the product quality, although some labor workers have lost their job during the progress of mechanization.