IELTS Writing task 2 - Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

memorising in education

TOPIC: Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many people believe that learning by heart is an intriguing method to be good at studying. To some extent, I agree with that opinion, yet I disagree that it is the key of education success.

Most of the school programs comprise of known subjects, which are the proven facts or written knowledge, such as history, geography, literature, etc. The students who possess perfect remeberance would definitely have a certain advantage to get remarkable records in such subjects. When I was at school, top three of my classmates either were good at remember everything or studied like a hardy bee all the time.

However, memorising facts also bring some backwards. Those who rely on memorising would only know what have known and hardly can apply such knowledge into a different sector. People could never invent planes just by remembering the wings of birds! Moreover, if the knowledge are remembered as separate facts rather than finding connection among tons of events, someday the memory will be full and things can be forgotten.

On the other hand, the ultimate goal of education is to nurture brains, using brains to discover and apply theories into practice and to bring benefits into life. The lessons taught are just the foundation for learners to freely imagine, create new ideas and make evolution. Indeed, human beings have invented tons of marvelous products based on imagination and creativity and no limitations are set for creation.

In conclusion, it is impossible to deny the benefit of memorising to education, especially in elementary school and secondary school. However, the crucial keys for students in advanced education programs to reach the final objective of education success, is to learn how to apply the fundamental knowledge and encouraging free imagination and creation.