Mission going to outer space; Space Exploration, National Pride or Internationa Effort?

Some people argue that space exploration has had more to do with national pride than international effort.

To what extent do you agree with this?

How do you think space exploration will change in the future?

a national pride or international effort?

It is arguably that such mission going to outer space is more likely related to how successful a country is. Also, it seems completely far to be explained in the term of global endeavour. I personally agree with this initiative issue since this exploration represents national identity and prestige of the country.

Superpower countries, which are competing to explore the universe, have their own icons which deliver implicitly their value and belief. This is because each group has different idea and specifications related to their space research programme. Obviously, Dr. Alex Roland of Duke University, who has scrutinized national interests regard to the successful missions of the United States - Apollo 11 and the Soviet Union launching the first artificial Earth satellite - Sputnik, claimed that there is a direct relationship between technological power and national ideology. He explained that the triumph of American aircraft reaching the Moon conveys the superiority of democracy while Russian's achievement introducing Sputnik displays the grandeur of communism. Clearly, those space missions aim to promote nationalism and have opposing goals, instead of collaboration project.

In addition, the primary purpose why developing countries strive to conduct the cosmos investigation is to get considerable prestige in the international community. Due to the fact that, the more successful of space exploration, the more superior the country. Jason Burke, the author of "India's Mars Satellite Successfully Enters Orbit, Bringing Country Into Space Elite", confirmed that, despite of the intention to improve prosperity, India spent considerable huge budget on setting up Mangalyaan, a space probe orbiting Mars. This results in strengthening India's status in the world, as the fourth space agency reaching Mars and, ultimately, the first in Asia.

In conclusion, it is true that the ambitions to know the entire universe are to show ideological label and to obtain great status internationally. Hopefully world citizens realized that if they want to advance space exploration, they should work out together. Otherwise, this trend will drive to the third world war.