(IELTS essay) MNC's are good or bad..?

Multi-national companies nowadays find it convenient both to market their goods all over the world. They set up production facilities wherever they find it suitable. In this essay, I will discuss why I fell multi-national companies have adverse effects on our lives.

Firstly, it spoils the local business and the livelihood of the local people will be in danger. Multi-national companies attract people first by giving cheap and wide range of products. The tight competition from large companies obliged local companies with fewer resources to move out of business. After capturing the market, they may decide the product and its price, leads to less choice and high price of the commodities. People forced to choose whatever available there, as it became the only one showroom there.

Secondly, they may results in the loss of cultural diversity. Undoubtedly, multi-national companies and globalization are making societies more open and identical. If people follow diversity and consume varied products, wherever they live, then only societies will be varied more. As multi-national companies flourish everywhere, it is possible to buy the same products from identical multi-national super markets or outlet around the globe. For instance, it is easy for anybody anywhere, to enjoy KFC by visiting the regional outlet of KFC.

Thirdly, we have become more vulnerable on them, which in turn make us more susceptible to their decisions. The availability of a product, price rate, hours of duty, facilities for employees, outlet locality, and so on, will directly affected by their rules. For instance, a multi-national company decides to move its production facilities to another country or to cut down the wages and benefits of employees, against the governmental policy, according to the company's regulations, it may create critical impacts.

To conclude, I believe that, multi-national companies cause unfavorable effects in peoples' lives. Governments should protect the local market and business from excessive outside competition. However, proper planning and effective rules can diminish its adverse effects to an extent.