Modern technology has more negative effects than positive ones: Agree or disagree?

Topic: Some people think that modern technology has more negative effects on our lives than positive ones. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion.

The advancement of technology has dramatically changed many aspects of our lives, either in a bad and good ways. However, a group of people believe that technology's influences on our society have been more negative than positive. From my perspective, however, this opinion cannot be true because of social, environmental and medical reasons.

One of the notorious examples mentioned by the critics of modern technology is the adverse effects of social networks on people's communication. They believe that social networks like Facebook have changed the interaction model of people from face-to-face to unrealistic, virtual one, which destroys the emotional bonds among friends and families. However, I think that such conclusion has naively been made through a personal prejudice without conducting any comprehensive empirical studies. A social network like Facebook contains millions of members all across the world that connect people to each other. For instance, how could I, as an international student in Australia, stay in contact with my family in Iran or my sister in Canada without using modern social networking? Does it negatively influence my relationships with people who I love, but obligatory far away from me, or are the effects positive? Without any doubt I would answer that Skype, Facebook and other new methods of communications could keep me in touch with people and foster my ties with them.

Moreover, those who claim that the development of technology has been harmful for the world concentrate their thoughts on the environmental issues. Although they might be right to one degree or another, modern technologies have solutions for these problems too. The introduction of clean energies, such as solar, wind and electrical energies is one of the solutions that recently suggested to raise the crucial air pollution issue. In addition, many electrical and hydrogen-fuel cars have been invented that can be replaced with the current automobiles with the intent to produce cleaner atmosphere.

The role of advanced technology in phenomenal enhancement in medicines is also undeniable. Invention of artificial hands and legs, implantation of teeth, production of micro-needles used in surgeries, to name a few, are instances that show how technology could save lives of many. Indeed, the positive effects of technology on the health are pivotal, so they cannot be questioned by less significant issues stated earlier.

To sum up, even though some people call the advancement of technology effects into question by considering important problems like air pollution, I believe that its advantages still outweigh its disadvantages. Therefore, if we give scientists and inventors leverage to do their best in order to drive up technological standards day by day, we can witness a world with cleaner environment, healthier people, and more advanced social interactions.