IELTS: In this modern time, there are numerous people who have to work continuously in a long time

People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

In this modern time, there are numerous people who have to work continuously in a long time, which causes negative impacts not only on workers but also on society as a whole. From my point of view, as a advocate, it is reasonable for the governments to limit working hours in companies and corporations.

One of the first and foremost problems of working long hours is that this would lead to the deterioration in health. To keep working continually could cause extended stress, culminating in workers' sufferance from severe depression. According to a report released by World Health Organization, the ratio of depression in people who have to work more than eight hours per day is as three times higher than those who work less than eight hours per day. There are variety of dangers result from grave depression, such as accidental murder or harming others in unconsciousness. Moreover, working extra time may worsen physical conditions of job holders, which would directly decrease working effectiveness.

Furthermore, to work with extension hours may exacerbate people's social relationships, ranging from family, lovers, to friends. Workers would not have adequate time for their family, especially their children, which might be significantly dangerous. For example, in this Internet developing time, children without the observation of parents could be easily lured to be involved to different kinds of juvenile crime like cocaine addiction and sexual abuse. One more difficulty of working long hours is that because people spend too much time in working, they could not take part in social activities, so they might be isolated from society.

On the other hand, there are plenty of people have to work overtime perfunctorily because they need more money to pay for their essential daily products. These workers are usually the ones who migrate from rural sides to urban area to find jobs, so their basic salaries may be lower than urban dwellers. Therefore, in order to discourage working with extension hours, the government should devise remedies which could help them with solving financial problems.

In conclusion, on account of various difficulties of working long hours, this should be considered to be impeded, in my opinion. However, the government should have policies to support poor people who have to work extra hours to earn money.