[WR T2] Is it necessary for schools to prize 'high-grade' students?

reward for students who show the best academic results

Some people think that it is necessary for schools to prize students with the best academic results, while others believe that give awards to students who make improvements is more important. In this essay, I will analyze both viewpoints and give my opinion on the matter.

There are reasons to reward students who have the best result. Perhaps the most significant reason is that competitions help students to try hard to become the best. To be clear, most of competitions are organized with difficult tasks that they have to spend a lot of times to study and prepare for competitions. Additionally, students who have high rank in competitions have more opportunities to enroll in top universities. Moreover, a wide range of large companies are likely to choose trainees who has best results from competitions at universities, so that it can be significant opportunities from them after graduating.

In contrast, it is also reasonable to reward students who make improvements. First of all, this can help students avoid being stressed and feel free to study. To be more detailed, without test or examinations, students are not likely to suffer pressure from studying and tests. Therefore, it can be good for their health. Additionally, no competitions can encourage most students to study. To be clear, there are not many students have such demands to become the first grade and they can spend time on experiencing other things such as interacting new relationship in universities or simply doing they like.

To sum up, students have motivations in becoming the best via competitions and learn many social skills through debating. On the contrary, many people may argue that students feel enjoyable and comfortable with no exams at universities.