The news media has significant influence on the daily lives of human

SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE NEWS MEDIA NOWADAYS HAVE INFLUENCED PEOPLE'S LIVES IN NEGATIVE WAYS.

TO WHAT EXTENT DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE?

It is undeniable that the news media has significant influence on the daily lives of human these days. While I accept that this seems a negative development, I personally believe that the benefits of the news media far outweighed its drawbacks.

On the one hand, the news media would have an adverse effect on society. Firstly, in order to attract a large number of readers and gain more profit, the gutter press is likely to sensationalise stories which could mislead the public's opinion and distort readers' perception of reality. For instance, statistics and information of Corona virus without censorship these days, which is spread instantly in the internet, would instill a sense of fear in society and cause mistaken treatment. In addition, famous people are also the victim of invading their privacy by the paparazzi who are determined to get a story at any cost. As a result, celebrities who suffer from invasion of privacy tend to get depressed or even commit suicide.

On the other hand, the influence of news media could create positive impact on general public. First of all, it would be news channels that keep people informed about what was going on in the world continuously. While reading broadsheets would get access to quality coverage of news and current affairs, being exposed to popular tabloids would widen human's mind about lively and colorful stories. What is more, the news media including good news could inspire followers with an optimistic life. For example, with people have been opposed to news of the disadvantaged in developing countries, it would instill a sense of satisfaction and respect of their life.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the news media has positive effect on people's lives and it should be supported to grow orientedly.