IELTS WRITING TASK 2 ABOUT NEWSPAPERS & TV

Hello everyone,

I'm currently preparing to take my 2nd IELTS exam. I would really appreciate any feedback you could provide me with. Thank you all so much!

HERE IS THE TOPIC

In many countries, very few young people read newspapers or follow the news on TV. What do you think are the causes of this?

What solutions can you suggest?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

ESSAY

Increasingly the landscape of news has shifted over the past decades. The younger generation are no longer motivated to pick up a newspaper or follow events of the evening news.

This is in part due to, recent technological advancements and a wide proliferation of entertainment media. As technology progresses previous forms of media are no longer able to keep up with the pace of adoption. An example of this is highlighted in TV viewership numbers after the mass manufacture of internet enabled smart-phones. As a result, highly addictive, irrelevant TV shows and movies have replaced traditional forms of media. Also, younger people have a deep mistrust for government controlled media sources because of lack of objectivity when covering certain subject matters. This keeps them skeptical about the reports seen in articles and news programs.

Certain steps, however, could be taken to mitigate these issues. Such as the creation of a media club in schools. A club of like minded aspiring journalists could report on news issues around the school and have a taste of the activities needed to produce traditional forms of media. For instance, covering the school council elections is a great introduction to reading newspaper polls. Finally, key subjects of interest such as games, sports and fashion could be incorperated into traditional media. This will ensure an eager demographic of youngester who anticipate the next edition of the news.

Circumstances surrounding the current generation of youths have allowed them the ability to evolve. News organizations must also keep up with the times if they hope to survive and remain relevant.