IELTS WRITING TASK 2 : NEWSPAPERS VS THE INTERNET

the future of printed newspapers in the internet era

Holding a newspaper, looking at the hottest news of the day while sipping a cup of coffee has been one of life's little happiness. However, owing to the development of technology and the appearance of the internet, people can get information from various means of communication. It is argued that whether humans will still consider reading newspapers as the main way of getting updated. For me, I strongly believe that the flourishing of the internet will soon make online sources a dominant place for people to read news.

Firstly, online news can be updated faster and easier to spread. With a computer, a journalist can finish an article and post it on the website within only 15 to 30 minutes. More and more people are using social networks platforms today so just by a click at the share button, news is spread all over the world in the blink of an eye. In addition, publishing online is more economical so a lot of press companies choose to establish a website of their own. These websites are user-friendly and can be included with videos so watching the news is more enjoyable and easier to absorb. Advocates of newspapers may say that there are too many sources of news on the internet that people can get distracted and sometimes end up believing the wrong information. Traditional newspapers however are more reliable as they are from official and big companies. This may be true but I have to say that these companies are now having their websites too. For example the new york times, cnn, bcc... and people can absolutely choose these official sites to read news so that they can avoid fake ones.

Another reason is that online news is super convenient. People can read it everywhere, at any time with nothing other than their phones. Especially, the majority of these online sources are free to access, in comparison with newspapers.

In conclusion, I disagree that printed newspapers would continue to be the most crucial source of information because more and more people will be drawn to use the Internet.