IELTS Writing Task 2 - Newspapers and books in the future

In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is thought that hard copies of newspapers and books will see a decline of sales in the future because these reading materials will be available on the internet for free. I agree that newspapers will soon be obsolete. However, I believe printed books will still be popular in the foreseeable future.

Printed newspapers are actually already flunking sales, and in the near future, people will leave them behind. This is because nowadays people can easily access the news from online news portals through their gadgets. Although some online news website requires paid subscriptions, most websites offer up-to-date information free of charge with credible quality. Accessing news from the internet is also quicker. We do not need to wait for the next day to know what is happening around the world. In addition, people can pick a variety of news articles from different agencies according to their preference.

On the other hand, I disagree that printed books will become extinct. This is because printed books are somewhat a collectable object. Certain people are passionate of collecting books and have personal libraries at home. Public libraries will also still need to purchase physical books to enrich their collections. Another reason is that reading printed books is much more favourable compared to e-books due to several factors. Reading e-books cause ocular discomfort due to the light emitted from gadgets. Some people also like to take notes with pens or pencils and highlight sentences on their books. Although this could be done on digital files as well, it is more convenient to do it on paper. Moreover, e-books are actually not free and I believe buying printed books is more worth the value than e-books.

To sum up, I believe that printed newspapers and books might see a different fate in the future: the first will see their dawn and the latter will likely survive.