[IELTS WRITING] OBJECTIVITY IN NEWS

Most people think truth should be objective rather than subjective when it comes to news. Do you think all news is true? What is the function of a newspaper?

It is said that news should be reported objectively rather than subjectively. Although this is a widely held view, I am inclined to believe news, in reality, do not always reflect absolute truth. Besides, news serves as a medium to disseminate timely information among the public.

It is true that not all news is free of subjective elements. Clear evidence can be seen in the coverage of international conflicts. For instance, news outlets in one country may portray their own policies as defensive while criticizing the other nation's actions. Conversely, the second country's news might justify their stance on the grounds that the first nation's policy is unreasonable and aggressive. In other words, despite narrating the same event, news in these two countries have been distorted to align with each nation's interest, thus compromising the objective nature of reporting news.

A newspaper plays a vital role in delivering timely information. For instance, a business journal can provide investors with insights into recent fluctuations in stock market, whereas a sport tabloid can update enthusiasts on the latest games and scores. Similarly, a fashion magazine would keep readers informed of seasonal fashion while school newspaper serves to keep students aware of happenings in their learning environment. These examples stand testament to the messenger function of newspapers.

To conclude, it seems to me that subjectivity is indeed present in news, and a newspaper functions as a method to obtain information among citizens. Considering this crucial role of news, it is important for journalists to show commitment to the truth depicted in their articles as much as possible.