WT 2 - Why do offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment?

Reasons for recidivism

Villains freed from the prison usually commit more crimes. This statement leads to the question of why such things could happen and how to deal with that. In my opinion, it is the lack of attention in personal changing in every prisoner that has been out of our law enforcer sight.

There are several factors causing the offenders become more aggressive in crime after being punished. But mostly it is occurred because we only concern from the law point of view. The length of sentence given to the crime agents are only determined by the type of crime they committed. They are all explained clearly in law. But what point we miss to see is the effect of the punishment within the villains. No matter how much time the offenders spend in jail if it does not change their mindset and behavior then it is just useless. Therefore, the length of a sentence should be based on qualifications of changed behavior experienced.

One of the measurement to overcome the problem and achieve our desirable result is to pay more attention to every crime agent in prison. The way to do that is by hiring counselors specializing in crime to monitor the prisoners behavior not only how the sentence affect it but also how far it changes. When the professionals claim that the prisoners have shown significant changes and are proper to live among the society then they can be released. So it is not just about the type of crime and how long it takes time in prison according to it but also to prepare the villains to be back in public as safe as they are expected to be.

To conclude, I think the offenders committed more crimes after serving their first sentence are mainly caused by the lack of changed behavior. They are only expected to spend time in jails depend on law or rules without the expectation of becoming a better person after being prisoned. That is why monitoring them one by one using the help of counselors is required.