The official forbiddance of smoking in public places - IELTS writing practice task 2 academic

There is evidence that inhaling cigarette smoke causes health problems not only for smokers but for non-smokers who inhale other peoples smoke.

In view of this, smoking should be banned in all public places, even though this would restrict some people's freedom of action.

What are your views?

Give reasons for your answers and include any examples. Write at least 250 words.

Smoking ban in public places

The fact that smoke from cigarette not only harms the respiratory system of smokers but also that of passive smokers, leading to a suggestion of smoking ban in publicly used areas. While some people see this ban as restriction of freedom of action, I do not share the same point of view and in this essay, I will be presenting information that will help to support my opinion.

To begin with, it is noted that prohibiting smoking is only applicable to the public area, but not any of the private place, such as bars and restaurants, as these places are privately managed by its executives. If this law had implemented, people who wish to smoke can still have the rights to do so, and thus, not impeding their liberty.

Apart from that, undeniably, smokers have fewer places to choose for taking the tobacco. Yet, the rule on smoking is in fact concerning a greater issue: the well-being of most citizens. Health issues have always been the worldwide matter, but this requires actions from everyone. It seems to me that it is worthwhile to sacrifice or limit a small portion of people's choices on where to smoke, maintaining the health of most of our valued citizens.

To conclude, making smoking in the open areas illegal would be a smart decision when we put the healthiness of the majority into our first priority, because smokers contribute only a small part of our population, and these people can still smoke in other personal sites. The lawmakers should also understand that protecting people's health is far more important than fulfilling the will of a small percentage of people.