IELTS writing task 2- opinion essay on physical and mental strength

Q. Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Both physical and mental strength is important for sports undoubtedly. Without both strengths, flow of the sport can be damaged. Physical strength is vital for sports. Mental strength is necessary for defeating the opponent.

A person has to train him or her physically fit for being in a sport. Strength is important for movements of limbs. It gives the muscle the energy to perform a sport perfectly. Such as for gymnastics one has to be physically strong otherwise they might break a bone. Because for the balance and the movements of feet and hands, you need the strength to perform better. Basketball has the same thing as gymnastics.

On the other hand, some sports need the only mental strength to move on. Such as chess. Chess needs only the mental strength to defeat the opponent. One has to play that with strategy. Only brain power is required for this kind of sport. Swimming is a sport with both physical and mental strength. One has to learn the techniques of swimming and also need the mental strength to finish the lap within the time limit in a competition.

There are also other sports which needs physical and mental strength such as badminton, tennis, table tennis. In this kind of sports if you lose focus, you will lose. If focus is stable you will win.

In conclusion, Physical and mental strength both is equally important almost in all sports. Some is exception but in my opinion it depends on the type of sports with which one is required the most.