IELTS Writing task 2: opinions on rising the price of petrol to reduce the effects

TOPIC Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

rising the price of petrol is not a solution

It is undeniable that traffic and environmental problems from using vehicles have become alarming situations nowadays. However, using a simple way of rising cost of petrol will not only have no results but also bring more drawbacks than usual, therefore, people must adopt other solutions which can address this.

I firmly believe that rising the price of fossil fuels is not going to curtail the number of drivers using vehicles such as private cars and motorbikes; thus, it will not minimize the effects on the traffic and environment. Furthermore, that situation can lead to the fact that the cost of transportation can go up and make travellers meet more dilemmas and difficulties while they have to spend more than usual to travel every day.

I believe without a doubt that instead of increasing the price of the resources, people have to concentrate on developing a new kind of petrol which is environmental friendlier while its cost is nearly unchanged when compared to the main sorts of petrol that we are using. Thus, this would be a more effective strategy for improving a clean atmosphere after persuading civilians to start using this alternative choice. To tackle the traffic congestion issue, the most operative action is to improve the choice of public transport so that people can have lots of available services to travel which is more affordable and convenient than using their own vehicles; therefore, traffic on the roads would be dramatically reduce.

To conclude, i strongly disagree that rising the price of petrol can be a solution for the traffic congestion and environmental issues, instead, only by using a cleaner resources and improve public transportation services would these problems be solved.