In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because they have more children.

multi generation family is dissapearing

Nowadays, families seem to be much smaller than those in the past, this leads to people could experience differently in lifestyle, attitude and characteristics. Being a member of a multi generation family in the past both has advantages and disadvantages

When being a member of a big family, children could play with each other more frequently. Through this, they could learn some social skills from other individuals as their experience. Even though they quarreled occasionally, they learned how to defend themselves naturally and gradually. Moreover, children are taught to help in house in doing housework, taking care of people by themselves, so children could be more responsible compared to those without being a part of many generation families. In addition, it was clear that younger child was looked after carefully by their beloved grandparents. As a result, younger brothers learned many things from elder brothers. Besides those benefits, there were some drawbacks when living in a large family. Once one parent didn't work for a living, there would be less money for children's education and activities such as sporting, drawing or taking part in soft skill classes. This was because that a parent had to stay at home and look after their children and grandparents. One more bad thing was that there was less attention for each child individual from their parents since just one mother or one father was too busy with taking care of other members and finishing all housework. Therefore, children with problem suffered seriously on their own.

In my opinion, despite some drawbacks from living in a large family, there were more benefits than ever. Since family members always were supported and helped by each other whenever they needed, they surely formed strong relationship. What's more, people would never be lonely because they were always surrounded by relatives.