IELTS WRITING TASK 2: PAYING TAX OR NOT

Some people think we should keep all the money we earn and not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Paying tax is made compulsory for citizens in every country, but some people argue that it is not our responsibility. I disagree with this opinion.

Opponents of paying tax may base their argument on the ground that all private properties should be respected in democratic countries. As long as people earn their money through hard work, they should have complete ownership of it. Governments should not take part of their income away against their free wills. According to their views, the practice of taxation counters the ideals of democracy and liberty.

Unfortunately, these ideals cannot be fully realized without effective governance of the country, which is mainly funded by revenues from taxation. A democratic country does not only need hardworking individuals who contribute to the growth of economy, but also requires being arranged, maintained and controlled as a whole, including infrastructure construction, law enforcement, market regulation and so on. Without sufficient funding from taxes paid by people, they are unlikely to enjoy a well-facilitated and organized life.

Furthermore, taxation is an important way to close social divide between the rich and the poor. People are born with different abilities and brought up in different environments, thereby earning different levels of income. If governments levy high rate of tax on rich people, the money can be used to support the life of disadvantaged ones through social welfare programs. This will help to achieve greater social equality, which is one of the essential goals of democracy.

In conclusion, it is narrow-sighted to keep all the money by ourselves. Everyone should fulfill their tax obligations in order to live in an ordered and equal society.