TOEFL - people believe about the human activity effects on the Earth

Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed by human activity. Other feel that human activity make the Earth a better place to live. Agree|Disagree?

Although our Earth is young in comparison with other solar system plants, it has more than four billion years old. During these years many different phenomena completely changed our Earth. Humankind only live in Earth for about five thousand years, so it is few years in comparison with Earth age. People are divided into two camps according to human activities effects on this planet. Some people believe that our activities will damage the Earth. Others think these activities are not very harmful in comparison with other phenomena happened to the Earth.

The first reason why many people believe that human activities are not harmful is mankind have had some benefits for the Earth. For example, human have tried to save some endangered species. Some species are saved by people and some new species that are very helpful are being created by genetic science. Furthermore, human try to decrease negative effects of some disasters. For instance, by expanding the forest, growing tree near rivers and building dams human try to decrease negative effects of floods.

On the other hand, many people think that the Earth is being harmed by human activities such as using extensively from non-renewable resources such as fossil fuels. These days our cities are full of colorful cars and buses that all need energy to move. Thus, using fossil fules is growing day by day. As a result, more carbon dioxide is emitted and eventually our Earth temperature increased due to global warming.

All in all, people have both positive and negative effects on, our green planet, the Earth. In my opinion, it is very hard and soon to judge about human effects on the Earth. I think, it needs more time and more evidence to make assessment. Hence, I think this topic is open for future people to make conclusion about human effects on the Earth.