People often do not interact with neighbors and this is harming communities. Causes and solutions?

Lack Of Community In Today's Society

It is true that these days human beings lack a sense of community within neighborhoods, and this fuels a toxic society with isolation and indifferent attitude. This essay will suggest the principal causes of this issue along with some possible solutions.

There are two major compelling reasons as to why people are not spending time on communicating with neighbors. The foremost cause of this trend is due to the fact that people have to devote their life to keep up with the high demand of the modern world. For example, a career like doctor would work a night shift in a hospital in order to take care of numerous patients. As a result, they have no time to socialize with neighbors. Moreover, the problem is accentuated by the design of most modern construction nowadays. It is noticeable that people have a tendency to move to city blocks full of apartment buildings whose design encourages people to retreat into privacy in their homes rather than immersing in publicity. Consequently, it leads to a lifestyle of independence and loneliness.

There are several measures that could be taken to eradicate the problem resulted from lack of communication among neighbors. A possible solution would be to organize a number of social activities such as civic meetings, music shows, book fairs. Hence, more opportunities would be created for residents to meet up and integrate themselves into the community. Another remedy to tackle this problem involves changing the traditional design of buildings into an interactive way. For example, there are buildings with windows and sharing rooms designed for promoting next-door communication. As residents have places to interact, access outdoor spaces, it is likely that they could foster a strong connection with their neighbors around.

In conclusion, there are various factors responsible for the absence of interaction among neighbors, but there are possible solutions to resolve this problem, namely enhancing neighborhood activities and constructing interactive apartments.