People do not have to get married to be happy, so more and more people choose to stay single

Wretched Institution of marriage

These days, the number of individuals opt for living alone, which has become quite normal. From my perspective, this trend is unfavorable due to the following three reasons. Firstly, the tendency to stay single increases the rate of people suffering from psychological problems. There is a high likelihood that the unmarried have to cope with numerous strains of study, work, and finance by themselves. They do not have intimate enough relationships to confide in, which leads them to have more adverse attitudes. A recent study discloses that single people often resort to drugs to relieve stress and many become addicted. Secondly, the single lifestyle results in population aging. People living alone tend to spend all their time enjoying their own life instead of having a baby, which is considered a key contributor to the decline in fertility rates. Lastly, this trend inhibits long-term economic growth. Some people might say that single life boosts economic growth because individuals can completely concentrate on careers. However, these might be merely short-term benefits because of predictions about a dramatic increase in the proportion of older people, which will put heavy pressure on health systems and welfare. Moreover, a decline in the working-age population is unavoidable, so the economy may be in a deep recession due to the scarcity of the labor force. In conclusion, the unmarried lifestyle is detrimental due to problems of psychology, the aging population, and the economy.