People's shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factors.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that nothing exerts as much influence on one's shopping habits as the age bracket into which he falls. I disagree with the idea. In my opinion, there are a variety of factors which are more influential.

First, disruptive innovations including online shopping overshadows age in determining people's shopping habits. The elderly, who are the most conservative segment of the population, tend to stick to old norms and practices. They are usually in contrast with younger people, who are eager to embrace novelties. However, in this era when electronic commerce is on the rise, even senior citizens are turning to shopping websites and thus they do not show much difference from young shoppers. For example, my grandfather, who will turn 85 this year, and me, who is in my early 20s, both become regular users of Taobao, the Chinese version of Amazon.

When to make purchases, affordability is another consideration which carries more relevance than age. Most of people, regardless of the age, are habituated to buying the best things for which they can pay. Take clothes, for example. The rich tend to develop a habit of going to fancy boutiques in pursuit of customized suits that never fail to arrest attention, while the poor perhaps have no choice but habituate themselves to browsing eBay for what is sold at discount.

In conclusion, I am in disagreement that age is the most significant factor in deciding one's shopping habits. His financial means can have more impact. Innovations which bring revolutionary change to life also exceeds age in terms of relevance.