IELTS Writing Task 2 - Some people think it is better for children to grown up in the city

Some people think it is better for children to grown up in the city, while others think that life in the countryside is more suitable for them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of both places?

Some argue that urban life is more beneficial for children's growth and development while others believe that rural areas provide a more favorable environment for young people. While both sides have strong reasons, this passage will list the pros and cons of living in both regions.

There are several reasons that children should spend their childhood in cities. Firstly, access to amenities like schools and clinics is convenient since they are in proximity and public transport is well developed. Secondly, it gives children more opportunities to join community activities and volunteering, which would broaden their horizons and improve their social skills. However, heavy traffic on the roads could be hazardous to schoolchildren. In addition, the spread of diseases in crowded cities can pose a risk to children with low immunity. Children in urban areas are exposed to negative influence like crime and bullying.

On the other hand, life in the countryside can be enriching for children in many ways. Young people are encouraged to engage in physical activities like hiking and swimming, as rural areas offer more space with a sparse population. They can get closer to nature and learn more about wild animals and plants. Moreover, they may acquire practical skills like carpentry and farming. However, children living away from towns are less exposed to modern technologies and may appear less adaptive to the fast-paced city life when they relocate. They are also said to be less knowledgeable about current city and world affairs.

In summary, there are both positive and negative impacts on children's lives if they choose to live in cities or rural areas in terms of health and learning experience.