IELTS TASK 2: People think that the news media has influenced people's lives nowadays...

Hi, guys! Please give me all your suggestions as my target is band 7!!! Thank you !!!!!!

ESSAY: People think that the news media has influenced people's lives nowadays and it is a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether the news media exerts an adverse impact on the developments of both individuals and the entire society has sparked off an intense debate among the public. Some people claim that the prevalence and popularity of the news media gets rise to a series of disturbing problem and objectionable weaknesses. Personally, I agree with this opinion.

To begin with, the news media is detrimental to the unity and harmony of the entire society. It is simply because a great amount of violence and crimes described and popularized by the news media would give people an implication that they are surrounded by a vast number of potential criminals.Under such circumstances, those law-abiding and peace-loving people would largely generate anxiety and apprehension, which would bring about the estrangement between individuals.As a result, the impersonal and indifferent atmosphere will be spread and disseminated to the every corner of the society.

Additionally, the soaring rate of juvenile delinquency should be blamed for the news media. Unarguably, due to the nature of teenagers, those who lack self-control and the awareness of distinguishing right from wrong, are highly likely to imitate violent and ferocious behaviors that are portrayed and conveyed by the news media in details. Thereby, they would gradually become hostile and aggressive and are prone to vent their wrath on other people with those anti-social behaviors. Consequently, they will get involved into violent crimes and their futures will fall prey to it.

Admittedly, the major and primary purpose of a considerable number of journalists who describe and publicize the detailed violence and crimes is, more often than not, to grab the attentions of people and to boost the newspaper circulation as well as TV-rating. However, it is undeniable that the security and stability of the entire society is grievously endangered by the excessive violent contents that are proliferated by the news media.

To conclude, I concede that individuals, to some extent, can benefit from the news media. Nevertheless, I am still convinced that the disadvantages of the news media outweigh its advantages. Therefore, an array of measures and regulations should be taken into consideration and implemented by the government to curb this phenomenon.