Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today's life, while others disagree

the values of teaching history

History appears to be one of the immense values showing the spirit and life of each nation throughout the course of history. Nonetheless, the purposes of studying this subject is still controversial, sparking off a debate about whether history becomes useless in contemporary society or there is information which people should know by history. This essay will discuss these viewpoints and voice my opinion.

It is undeniable that there is the higher demand in emphasizing specific aspects rather than history in the modern life. Compared to some respects such as technology, science or economy which can decide on countries' development, history is stories in the past that are theoretical and have limited use for advanced society. Additionally, some anecdotes in history seems to be not plausible and accurate enough. This has left many controversies among scholars.

Nevertheless, there is a hold perception that history offers overwhelming advantages for people in today's world. First of all, people can perceive their origin and how their countries were changed and developed during distinct stages by learning history and reading historical materials. For instance, Vietnamese generally appreciate and feel proud bravery, achievements and unity of their ancestors throughout history. Simultaneously, when learning history and realize fault of the past, the same failing will be avoided, ensuring the development and safety of many countries in domestic and international issues.

To sum up, no matter how useless history can be in modern world, it still contains information which is useful for most people. From my perspective, history should be passed into subsequent generations in the light of it's immense values.