Should people travel to other places to learn about the culture and live there?

How to learn about the culture of a foreign country

It is not necessary for people to travel to other places to learn about the culture. We can learn as much as from books, films, and the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea of learning the culture of other countries has become an interesting issue in this decades. A certain school of thought is of the opinion that there are many ways to learn different cultures from books, movie or the websites. In this essay, I will describe both of views and say how I agree with this statement.

First of all, I strongly believe that people could learn lots of cultures without spending time to visit other nations to understand their cultures. There are numerous of resources can be found in the library or the internet. Interestingly, the British Council of Culture has published a website in 2015, it has contained the cultures all over the world we knew to this day. Additionally, some countries will not suitable to live and discover the culture especially for foreigners because the place may have wars. Therefore, I think that is enough to learn a different culture form those resources I noted above.

On the other hand, those with a contrasting view opine that lived in different countries is the best method to understand the culture of place rather than study on the books only. The supporters of this view said that communicate with local people are able to know their cultures and spirits deeply. There are number of things cannot be found on the books. For example, Taiwanese have a great human taste but people cannot really understand what is that means. The only way to know that is living in Taiwan and keep in touch with local people.

To summarized, I acknowledge that people could travel to other countries to learn a local culture but the important thing is that those countries are safety and suitable for foreigners to live. Furthermore, other resources will be helpful to understand a new culture.