GRE; Political leaders must yield to public opinion

Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for sake of compromise. Others believe that most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to principles and objectives.

Your response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

A political leader is a backbone of a country , state or district . A political leader should be firm in taking decisions and a political leader should know his dos and don'ts and what is better for the public . The main aim of the political leader should be developing the country. Developing the country includes all the necessaries of the public. A political leader should have a personal touch with the public so that he will know what are requirements and problems of the public.

"Some people believe that in order to be effective, Political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for sake of compromise." It can be inferred from this that a effective political leader should listen to the views of the public and they should act according to the public and give up their principle for sake of compromise. This can happen in particular situation where the political leader has no other choice than listening to the public or when a political leader thinks the opnion given by the public is right . For example , during natural calamities the political leader has to listen to the public and act according to the situation.Only in these kind of situations a political can give up his principles but not always.

"Some believe that most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to principles and objectives." It can inferred from this that a effective political leader should adhere to his principles and objectives. It is always said that a firm or decisive person is a mentally strong person and so it is same for a political leader. If a political leader is committed to principles and objectives he can be an effective and strong political leader.For example, when public demands for something which government can't afford to give in such situations a tactful and a strong political leader is required so that he solves the problem tactfully.

A effective political leader is one who understand the problems of the public and takes a rights decision. If a political leader compromise his principles and do what public wants the political leader to do , this can be done in some situation were the public is right. A political leader cannot listen to public always as in certain things the country might face a problem due to wrong decision made by the political leader and so the the political leader should capable of understanding the problem of the public and try to solve him with his principles.

Hence i would conclude by saying that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to principles and objectives because by keeping up his principles also a political leader can listen to public and solve the problem. It is not necessary that only by compromising his principles the political leader will become effective political leader.