Popular hobbies and interests as a reflection of trends and fashions

Please help me check my essay. Many thanks.

Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

trendy hobbies?

Many things have been changed within the past few decades, especially in common interests, and they were assumed to reflect the trends or fashions instead of personal hobbies that people want to do in their free time. In my point of view, I only partly agree with this statement.

It is undeniable that popular hobbies are heavily affected by the trends as well as the fashions because they are widespread and novel. These interests are usually introduced by influencers around the world, and as a result, lots of people follow what they did and it then becomes more and more popular. Even if you do not want to imitate, you also do not want to be singled out from a group for being different. For example, everybody at your workplace is all talking about a well-know Korean series or a famous movie at the cinema, it is likely that you will watch it some time. Moreover, chances are audiences copy what actors or actresses dress on screen to look trendy.

But not everyone is fond of something popular since they still stick to their old individual hobbies. They will neglect what people are doing out there and just keep doing what they used to do in their spare time. Particularly, while ebook is so convenient and sometimes free, there are a bunch of readers who still prefer paper books. What is more? Not everyone is using social media, too. I have known so many friends who like sending emails and traditional message texting.

All in all, even though common hobbies are a reflection of trends or fashions, there are still individuals that just simply want to do things they are interested in the relaxing moments. That is why I do not agree with the statement fully.