IELTS Writing Task (Practice) Topic: Study Abroad

Task 2

In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country.

Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge, and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence

Education plays an important role in creating future portrayal. This seems likely to lead people to seek better education system through a credible institution. Gaining education degree in its own native country is a way that is chosen by people in the past, while there are a great chance for people to study in foreign country. Even though that when people study abroad, they will deal with language problem, culture shock, and cost living, I would more like to believe that this step should be chosen as a big step to broadening the horizon.

Several problems will occur while people are studying abroad, it means that that they also come with disadvantage. First and foremost, the most difficult situations is when language become barrier to communicate, since language is predominant to communicate with local dwellers in overseas country. Also, some people will be stunned by its origin cultures which has a lot of differences compared to their own nation. This condition seems to add more burden to life, so people get shock and they will find it difficult to adapt. In addition, several foreign countries also have their own standard for living, as it can be seen in first-world country, living there will cost a lot of money. Students who does not get its scholarship will not ever be survived, but still there are a great number of part time jobs to get extra money.

In contrast, studying overseas also comes with an opportunity to broadening the horizon, because the foreign country provides a lot of experiences which people never have before. They will find a lot of best education facilities, and world-leading experts. In other words, students might find the best educational system which is most suitable for them. Taking as example, Japan is a country leading in geotechnical research throughout the world. The lab and facilities are equipped with the most state-of-the-art engine and simulator. As a result, student there will experience a virtual event that occur in nature and that is really a great benefit for their research. Therefore, through studying overseas will broaden the horizon since several country provide their best of certain areas.

To sum up, it is evident that although taking a chair in one of overseas countries will struggle with language, culture, and money related problem, it is more likely for people to widen their knowledge through a precious experience. To support this, people should prepare themselves with sufficient informations regarding to study plan and program from the very first.