IELTS T2: Is prison the best punishment for criminals?

Prison is the best punishment for criminals, to what extent do you agree?

It is largely argued that the most effective way to punish offenders is putting them in jails. I completely agree with this statement.

In my opinion, prison is the best sort of punishment for a number of reasons. First, by putting law-breakers in the prison we ensure the safety of our society. What this means is that criminal will not be able to commit further crimes if they are kept in jails. Secondly, in custody prisoners are prepared to be better citizens when they are released. For example, a huge number of prisons apply the rehabilitation programme, in which prisoners receive education and learn some valuable life skills. Finally, long prison sentences can deter offenders from re-offending crimes again. Because they will realise the value of freedom, therefore, they will think again before breaking the law in the future.

The alternatives to imprisonment would be much less effective. One option would be to apply fines as punishment for crimes. The downside of this method is that some wealthier might deliberately commit offences when they feel they can easily afford the price. Another option would be to require offenders to do community service. Although this way of punishment might be considered to be beneficial for society, but it also could be downright risky. Because we cannot trust the behaviours of not rehabilitated criminals, thus, by doing this we endanger the community.

In conclusion, I believe that the best punishment for criminals is to imprison them, and that all other alternatives are unreliable.