Pros and cons of developing tourism industry

1. Task: IELTS Writing Task 2

Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

2. Assignment:

These days, many countries are developing and promoting their tourist industries. In my opinion, this is a positive development, although there are many disadvantages.

The primary reason for the development of tourism in a country is due to the economic benefits that it brings to the country. The tourist industry is a low-risk investment that can increase the financial gains for the host countries. Through tax collection, the governments can use a part of this to invest in other long-term purposes such as education and the medical system. In addition, the well-developed tourist industry generates enormous wealth for the locals by taking advantage advantages of the already existent natural landscapes and providing local services. As a result, the locals' living standards and incomes are improving as well as the social security is becoming better.

However, the development of the tourist industry is the major factor leading to local environmental damage. For example, to serve tourists, many buildings are built on the expense of large primary forests and other types of untouched natural landscapes. The increase in garbage arising from the expansion of tourism is also a complicated issue in thriving countries. For instance, many well-known tourist destinations in Vietnam such as Phu Quoc Island, Ha Long Bay, and so on are threatened by trash littered from tourism activities. This is also the reason why many international tourists don't want to return to these sites.

In conclusion, I believe that although there are many threats are pose to the local environment in the countries that are active in promoting tourism, it is a worthwhile development because a well-developed tourism industry can bring many benefits in terms of economy.

This is my first post. Please give me some useful advices on style, argumentation, and vocabulary suggestions to help me get a higher score.