Pros and cons of self-study

Self-study is becoming popular among young people. Let's look at their pros and cons.

On the one hand, self-education can benefit students. First, self-study gives individuals the freedom to choose what, when and how to learn. That means they can explore topics they're interested in at their own pace. Second, self-study helps learners become more responsible and disciplined with their studies. They must manage their time effectively, set goals and make plans to achieve them.

However, it also has certain limitations for young people. One disadvantage of self-study is that it takes a lot of time to complete the proposed plans. Compared to group work, self-study takes a lot of time. Furthermore, it may not always provide opportunities to develop practical skills. For example, students may focus too much on their studies and may not apply their study skills to real life.

In short, self-study has both advantages and disadvantages. To achieve better results, individuals need to balance their learning strategies to avoid the negative effects it brings.