IELTS Writing task 2: Public funds on the arts? Is the government wasting money?

money on the arts

Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extend do you agree with this view?

The importance of art is usually belittled in regards to its contribution to the growth of countries across the world. While I agree that in some countries where citizens face poverty or adversity in healthcare and education, the money should be reserved for these services, the countries with secured economic situation should, however, invest in the art projects and gain benefits from the policy.

It is more practical for less developed countries to invest in the servies that are most needed. Not all countries in the world can provide their citizens with enough basic necessities in life. Some of which are even suffering from wars and severe life conditions. Therefore, the governments should adopt a more pragmatic resource allocation scheme by giving out food, shelter and education opportunities to their people. By doing this, they can make sure their citizens at least survive and live somehow comfortable lives before they can reach other bigger goals in life. If the government overlook their real difficult situations and keep investing in art, this would leave the burden on the citizens' shoulders rather than help them.

However, some countries with more developed economy which can secure life of all their citizens should consider allocating its budget in arts. Arts in general can promote physical and mental well-beings of individuals and this can only be achieved after physiological needs are fulfilled, which means people are not starved and fully sheltered . A good piece of music or a vivid painting can usually uplift people's moods and tend to boost workers's productivity and serves as a means to unwind better than any other alternatives. Therefore, the money granted to art projects, would no doubt do wonders on citizens' overall well-being, which in turn benefits the society as a whole.

In conclusion, it depends on the stability and security of wealth in each nation that they should make investment in arts a priority.

(Linh, 317 words)

P.S I would highly appreciate comments on my writing. It seems like my second paragraph has not been well developed. Any suggestions on how to improve it will be sincerely welcomed.