Puting students into mixed-ability classes or sorting them based on their academic intelligence

"Some people argue teaching children of different abilities together benefits all of them.

Others believe that intelligent children should be taught separately and given special treatment.

Discuss both views and how do you think about it?"

Nowadays, people hold widely differing views on whether schools should put their students into mixed-ability classes or stream them based on their academic intelligence. Although it is true that practicing 'elite students' policy has a number of certain benefits, I find myself in a complete agreement that schools should continue their traditional strategy.

It is undeniable that teaching faster learners together might improve their study efficiency to some extent, for approaching to more difficult and complex pedagogic materials and their potential abilities would develop as much as possible. Nevertheless, schools and parents should also be aware of the risky consequence of oversimplifying the situation here as well as the advantages of providing students the same syllabuses.

The top priority of education at any level is the development of student's personality and morality. Thus, establishing a separate teaching scheme relied on their good" enough. More over, instead of feeling happy and pleasure going to school, they would feel ashamed of attending lower classes, resulting in low self-esteem and lack of motivation to acquire knowledge.

On the other hand, schooling all pupils in a same course bring a bout a number of values to their progress. To begin with, when being educated together, students with various talents would be able to learn from each other and overcome their weaknesses. For example, those who excel at science subjects but struggling with art subjects could enhance their painting or singing skills with the help of their classmates and vice versa. As a result, they would grow up being well-rounded individuals. Simultaneously, by approaching a healthy and friendly environment, they would be encouraged to express themselves more, therefore boosting their confidence.

In conclusion, I am strongly against the argument of dividing pupils into separate courses due to their intelligence. In order to provide them the best opportunity to develop, remaining the traditional teaching curriculum is a wiser idea.

performance on examinations only is a ridiculous idea since all of us were born with different faculties. Consequently, those who are rejected from studying with the gifted students suffer huge psychological pressure from parents for not being "