The essay about the question: Should people restrict video games?

Limits on Video Games

As musician Ezra Koenig said, "Some people say video games rot your brain, but I think they work different muscles that maybe you don't normally use." Practically, many people believe that there should be restrictions on computer games due to their negative impacts on human mental health. However, the idea of setting boundaries for video games has been the main cause of many disputes between children and their parents or schools. In fact, electronic games are thought to be an educational program for the young generation, which would be an appropriate channel prompting innovative ideas rather than mental degradation.

Initially, in this digital era, video games have grown as an academic training program for many families and schools. To elaborate, various Vietnamese primary schools and high schools developed projects which applied both literal and logical subjects in computer games to help students attain in-class lessons effectively and efficiently. Additionally, families can easily encourage their children to be innovative via some virtual models or characteristics in those. Therefore, children may find their interest in study and grasp their job opportunity because a massive number of IT engineers state that one of their inspirations for the current job is video games.

On the opposite side, computer games are also considered as one of the reasons for family conflict and school bullying. Particularly, many arguments between children and their parents have been more serious due to the gaming disorder. Furthermore, schools are also struggling to solve many cyberbullying cases resulting from the brutal aspects of video games. To explain, video games have become a problematic and compulsive program due to some violent and murdering scenes that may deteriorate the mental health of especially the young generation. Literally, if parents or schools have chosen ethical and educational video games instead of implementing strict rules at home and delivering a stressful theoretical curriculum at school, children will be aware of the drawbacks of computer games. Thus, their mind may not be manipulated with hard requirements and hefty knowledge both from family and school.

In conclusion, even though some people reckon that video games are barriers for children's mental development, they are actually one of the primary tools which can help children be more creative, knowledgeable, and pursue their dream job in not only the field of technology but also many other areas.