How does rapid economic development affect a country?

In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are these problems? How might they be reduced?

It is evident that major cities and towns derive the most benefits from the achievements of economic revolution, notably in terms of living conditions. However, this has engendered severe social issues associated with the ongoing trend of a massive number of people leaving their rural regions and only by the close management of authorities will this situation be redeemed.

First and foremost, modern societies have seen the increasing flow of people moving to the metropolitan with a view to greater employment opportunities which offer a generally higher salary than that of the countryside. Likewise, they are capable of having access to better education and healthcare systems that are not available at their hometown. As such, this has resulted in overcrowding in the city centre, possibly generating serious traffic congestion and huge demand for accommodation since the provision of houses and apartments fail to keep up with the rise of population. Also, the high density of the inner-city implies higher potential of crimes such as theft and drugs.

In order to tackle these problems, government should pay more attention to improve the existing standards of living in the rural areas, which are the main incentives leading to the movement of peoples seeking to finer options in urban areas. For instance, schools and hospitals need constructing to fulfill the needs of people. In addition, government should invest in some advantageous sectors of the countryside like building business-oriented or industrial zones to create more occupations and also enhance the fundamental infrastructure in an effort to partly contribute to further progress of these areas.

To sum up, the inequality in development between urban and rural areas has generated social circumstances that can be effectively addressed by the control of the regime.