Reading has become less significant to Americans.

Q)

Some people believe that Unites States places more importance on the sight and sound media (film, television, radio and so on) than on the printed word. Present your views, either agreeing or disagreeing that reading has become less significant to Americans.

A)

With the advancement in technology, we have become accustomed towards sight and sound media i.e films,television, radio, etc but that doesn't means that the printed words hold less importance to people in United States. I agree, though the means of reading has changed but the number of readers has not decreased relatively. These days, people use emails over the old traditional way of writing letters and telegrams, e-news over newspapers, e- brochures over pamphlets and brochures, etc but they use the words for expression though in a new version.

People prefer to read the content using the digital media like i pad, tablet, laptops, etc rather than the old traditional form like novels or newspapers. I agree to the fact that with the advancement in the digital media, prospective readers might have decreased as people find it much convenient to watch a movie instead of reading a novel. On the other hand, the novel limits a person's imagination whereas if a person reads same novel rather than watching the film, the readers have a very different perspective about the story than the viewers of the film. The reader is able to imagine the character and the acts according to his/her own imagination whereas the imagination of the viewers gets restricted. Reading is like an addiction to the people who like to read. People who have a habit of reading are committed to reading so much that they give first priority to reading over other things. I travel in Bart daily and I see most of the people have two things in hand, one is they have a cup of coffee and the other is a novel or a newspaper or a kindle or a tablet for reading. I feel that 90% of the people travelling through Bart utilize their traveling time by reading and enhancing their vocabulary and imagination. Even at the airport, one can see that every two person from five are reading. Another good example is of "Game of Thrones" (GoT). There are a series of television serials made from the books and their are many readers who first read the novel and then they watch the television series.

Thus generalizing and believing that the people in United States pay more importance to visual and sound media will be very unfair for the people who still devote unconditional time to reading and writing.