IELTS: Reason for fathers stay at home while mothers go out to work. Is it positive or negative?

These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, stay-at-home fathers and working mothers are becoming common. The shift of gender roles within families could be generated by various reasons, which is a positive progress from my perspective.

There are reasons about this phenomenon. Firstly, it depends on personal preference. Women are eligible for gaining academic qualifications and pursuing a career because equal rights movements have promoted gender equality. Gone are the days when women belong only in the kitchen. They have options to work rather than to be housewives without choice. Secondly, the rising cost of living has put pressure on married families. The breadwinners of families should depend on which partner earns the most money rather than fixed gender roles. Lastly, special considerations should not be ignored. To be househusbands is the best option for some fathers who are disabled or suffering unemployment.

The emergence of househusbands and women breadwinners is a progress. The shift of gender roles shows that the society is open and generous. It eliminates the fixed and conservative gender roles, hence there are less gender bias. With this development, women are entitled to share equal opportunities. Besides the reduction in gender bias, this phenomenon works wonders for families. Both men and women could make the best contribution to the family. They are able to apply themselves in their skilled domains, to earn money or to assume childcare responsibilities. Children who are brought up by stay-at-home fathers could learn more masculinity from fathers. Therefore, the shift of gender roles is considered as a progress for both the society and families.

In conclusion, the rising amount of househusbands are caused by many reasons. I take the view that it is a positive development for both the society and families.