These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work.

What could be the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

(IELTS WRITING TASK 2)

In this modern era, more and more men are in charge of household chores while their partners earn family income. This essay will elucidate the causes of this trend. Furthermore, from my perspective, this is overall a negative trend.

To commence with, there are two major reasons for the stay-at-home father trend. The first reason worth mentioning is the constant efforts of women and society to change old-fashioned thinking. To be more specific, in the past, men were the ones who made the house while women made the house. However, thanks to feminism and advancements in education, women nowadays can serve in every field even in ones that used to be dominated by men namely the military, politics, and manufacturing. Secondly, with the popularity of online work and the advent of technology, men may choose to stay at home and spend more time on their families and housework. As a result, they can either make money to nurture their families or have quality time with their children.

From my point of view, this trend may have adverse effects on not only children but also the whole family. The first demerit is that children will be neglected for the lack of adequate love and care from their mothers. It is common knowledge that women have natural instincts to provide their children with comfort and care. However, men may struggle to meet the needs of their children either in terms of patience or emotional support. Consequently, a child's growing up will be affected in one way or another. The second disadvantage is that the quality of life of women and their families might be influenced by financial burdens. For example, in Hanoi, each person may earn 8 million dongs a month on average. Hence, women who are the sole breadwinner may find it hard to raise their families while the prices of oil, tuition fees, and food are rising at an unprecedented rate. In this way, the trend might lead to various consequences for the family.

All the information provided creates a concrete foundation that because of changes in thinking and advancements of women, fathers tend to resign from the breadwinner role to take care of their family and their spouses go out to make money. For these reasons, I believe this would be a negative trend if women do not share the duties of bringing up their children with their husbands and women are the sole breadwinners in their families.