Recruitment percentage of teachers who teach English and French languages in Canada

A breakdown of recruitment percentage of teachers who teach English and French languages in Ontario from 2001 to 2007 is illustrated by the line graph. Overall, it can be seen that the employment of French-language teachers had a upward trend meanwhile that of English-language teachers was in reverse.

Turning to more detail analysis, in the first two years, both English and French language teachers had a similar number and trend of employment. In 2001, the percentage of English and French language teachers' recruitment stood at around 70 then decreased to 58% and 53% respectively in 2002.

In the next years, these categories started to show differences. In 2003, the number of English teacher recruitment fell by 18% meanwhile that of French teachers rose by 15%. 2003 to 2005 saw steady increases of both languages by around 3%. The downward trend of English-language teachers' employment continued to the lowest percentage in the end of period. In contrast, although the number of French-language teachers' recruitment dropped in 2006, it still had a high percentage and rose again to 74% in 2007.