The requirement that employees should dress smartly. Is it more important than the quality of work?

IELTS Task 2 ESSAY

Write about the following topic.

Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

--- my essay as follows ---

An organisation when interviewing a candidate for a job role they often test him/her on the basis of how the candidate presents themself and their skills to decide whether the person best fit the job requirement. This essay discuss about an organisations believes on employees to dress smartly or value quality of work over appearance and will be in favour of latter.

Firstly, when an organisations wants their staff to dress smartly, the main reason behind this is that it helps people feel more confident and gives a sense of responsibility towards work. Employee who do not dress properly indicates lack of intrest and especially when it is the leads or senior management it gives out a message of unprofessionality and it might directly impact the work and the growth of an organisation.

On the other hand, some argue that the quality of work is more important that dressing smartly as quality in work and its outcome is what which brings customers or users to the organisation. Hence helps in achieving an organisation goals. Dressing comfortably helps the employees to work with concentration and for extented period of times.

In my opinion, dressing smartly should only be a chooice not mandatory and I believe quality of work has greater importance over appearance.

In conclusion, even tho dressing smartly help some employees in differnent ways without quality it will become difficult for an organisation to grow consistently and achieve it's goals.