IELTS Task 2: Rising Tax of Junk Food Can Reduce Health Problems

In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food? Agree or Disagree?

Some people argue that governments have to legalize higher-rate tax of junk food because it is the best solution for reducing the number of complex problems in health. I believe that this policy is quite good to prevent citizens' consumption of unhealthy food regularly. However, the governments may lose their income from its sector if the regulation is launched.

Nowadays, people can get the amount of fast food easily because it becomes ubiquitous products and has affordable prices. Likewise, the governments are able to decline the distribution with rising taxes for these varieties of meals. In consequent, the price of fast food will be higher, and it may encourage people to think twice for buying and consuming the meal repetitively. For another reason, if the governments mandate this policy, people will search other meals that cheaper but more healthy and save their money for other necessities.

However, the governments may find new problems when the regulation is decided. First consequence is that the restaurants which have the products will be bankrupt since they cannot pay the tax and add their cost to distribute it, so the governments may lose their income from this sector. On the other hand, the governments will be obtained protest and complaint from the owner of restaurants while they consider that the governments have blocked their business. Furthermore, if the restaurants came from abroad, they may give a blacklist to the country for working together eventually.

All in all, rising tax of fast food can be applied to help people controlling their consumption continuously of junk food, so they can avoid the dangerous diseases that may be occurred. Yet, the governments should think seriously the proper rate for tax and cooperative relationship, so the restaurants obtain sustain as well as the governments gain potential profit.