IELTS2 When you are in Rome, do as the Romans do; visitors should follow local customs and behaviour

Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is strongly held in a belief that when you are in Rome, do as the Romans do when you travel to different countries, however, some others believes that the citizens of the host country also should be open-minded to other cultural diversities. This essay will discuss both views in detail and give the conclusion.

On the one hand, following suit to the traditions of a country is believed to be the stolid proof indicating that travellers are respectful to other different cultures and assisting to broaden your horizon about the new civilization. For instance, when you traverse to a destination, you do not have any foggiest idea about their social norms, you want to ask for a direction to somewhere but gesticulating a strange gesture considered impoliteness in the host country, the local citizens would not want to guide you anymore because your manners make them feel offended. Therefore, precedent investigating about your destination is profoundly critical.

On the other hand, every individual is explicitly nurtured in multi-cultural surroundings, thus their perceptions and social manners are not the same, that's why they cannot gain an insight into other's customs. However, if the local habitants don't criticize but welcomely to impart the visitors what are your customs and traditions and address how vital they are in your nation, it would render an attraction about the local hospitable behaviours that rivets a good image to the travellers which bring them back to your country consecutive times, creating a great deal of beneficial aspects in terms of tourism and economy.

In conclusion, I do believe that the holidaymakers themselves should invest a bit of their time to explore about other civilizations before visiting, hence the host habitant should also be more sociable and transmit their civilizational customs and value in a friendly way.